EEA Funds

What are EEA Funds?

The EEA Funds represent the contribution of Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway to a green, competitive and inclusive Europe.

There are two general objectives: to reduce economic and social inequalities in Europe and to strengthen bilateral relations between the donor countries and the 15 EU countries of Central and Southern Europe and the Baltic Sea area.

The three Donor States work closely with the EU under the Agreement on the European Economic Area (EEA). Donors provided €3.3 billion in successive fund programmes between 1994 and 2014. The EEA funds for the period 2014-2021 amount to €1.55 billion.

The priorities for this period are:

  1. innovation, research, education and competitiveness;
  2. social inclusion, youth employment and poverty reduction;
  3. environment, energy, climate change and the low-carbon economy;
  4. culture, civil society, good governance and fundamental rights;
  5. Justice and Home Affairs.

The EEA Grants are jointly financed by Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, whose contribution is based on their GDP. Eligibility for the funds is based on the fulfilment of the criteria set out in the EU Cohesion Fund for Member States with a gross domestic income per capita below 90% of the EU average.

More on the EEA MF website: